- What ABE Publishes About the CLP Exam Fee
- Member vs. Non-Member: Running the Numbers
- What the Fee Covers (and What It Does Not)
- Costs ABE Has Not Published
- Budget Lines Candidates Often Forget
- Cost Over the Six-Year Validity Window
- Spending Your Prep Budget by Topic
- Is the Fee Justified? A Practical Value Check
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The published CLP exam fee is $300 for ABE members and $395 for non-members, with the study manual included.
- Joining ABE as a member only pays off if the membership itself costs less than the $95 difference.
- The exam is 100 questions in 120 minutes, delivered online through Allied Beauty Experts.
- Retake fees, renewal fees and membership dues are not publicly verified, so confirm them before you pay.
What ABE Publishes About the CLP Exam Fee
The Certified Laser Professional credential is administered by Allied Beauty Experts (ABE), and the exam is taken online through ABE. The organization's national laser certification page lists two prices: $300 for members and $395 for non-members. The study manual is bundled into that fee, so there is no separate textbook purchase to plan for.
That is the entire set of dollar figures that can be verified from public sources. If you are building a budget for 2026, those two numbers are your anchor. Everything else in this article is about understanding what surrounds them, what to confirm before paying, and how to decide whether the investment makes sense for your situation. If you are still orienting yourself, the overview in What Is CLP Certification? explains what the credential represents and who it is meant for.
Member vs. Non-Member: Running the Numbers
The gap between the two published prices is $95. That gap is the key to a simple decision, and the table below frames it.
| Candidate Type | Published Exam Fee | Study Manual | What to Verify |
|---|---|---|---|
| ABE member | $300 | Included | Current membership dues and whether your membership is active |
| Non-member | $395 | Included | Whether any account or processing fees apply at checkout |
| Difference | $95 | No difference stated | Whether membership cost exceeds the $95 savings |
The logic is straightforward. If you already hold an active ABE membership for other reasons, you capture the $95 discount for free. If you are not a member, joining only to save on the exam makes sense when the membership price is lower than $95 and you value the other benefits. Membership dues are not listed in the sources reviewed for this article, so check ABE directly before assuming either path is cheaper.
What the Fee Covers (and What It Does Not)
Included in the published fee
- One attempt at the 100-question online exam, with a 120-minute time limit
- The CLP study manual, bundled into the price
Not confirmed in public sources
- Whether a retake is discounted, full price, or restricted
- Whether proctoring or identity-verification fees apply
- Whether the credential certificate or a digital badge costs extra
- Renewal pricing and any continuing education requirements
The distinction matters because a headline price is only useful if you know what it buys. The study manual inclusion is a genuine value point: many certifications charge separately for official materials. For the CLP, the manual arrives as part of the transaction, which means your baseline preparation resource is covered the moment you register.
Costs ABE Has Not Published
An honest cost article has to separate what is known from what is not. The following items could not be verified from public information, and this article will not guess at them.
- Retake fees and rules. If you do not pass, the price and eligibility window for another attempt are unconfirmed.
- Renewal education and fees. The credential is valid for six years, but what renewal requires, and what it costs, is unverified.
- Prerequisites. Education, experience, training-hour and reference requirements are not publicly verified. If training is required before you can sit the exam, that training could become your largest expense. See CLP Requirements: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify for what is currently known.
- Passing score. ABE does not publicly disclose the passing score, which makes it harder to judge how many attempts you might need. The discussion in CLP Passing Score: Exactly What You Need to Pass covers how to think about this uncertainty.
Treat each unknown as a question for ABE rather than a number to estimate. Budgeting around invented figures is worse than budgeting with a clearly labeled gap.
Budget Lines Candidates Often Forget
The exam fee is the visible cost. Several adjacent expenses sit outside it, and some of them may be bigger than the fee itself depending on your starting point.
Hands-on training
ABE's materials are clear that certification is not a substitute for training or licensing. The exam tests knowledge of safety, terminology, application, background and specifications for laser hair removal and photo-rejuvenation. It does not teach you to operate a device on a client. If you work or plan to work in a clinical or spa setting, practical training is a separate line item. The article on CLP Training explains how preparation and hands-on instruction fit together.
State or local licensing
Laser treatments are regulated at the state level in the United States, and the rules vary. Licensing fees, supervision requirements and scope-of-practice limits are set by your jurisdiction, not by ABE. The CLP does not replace any of them. Budget for whatever your state requires independently of the exam.
Practice and review materials
The included manual is your primary text, but many candidates add timed practice questions to test recall under the 120-minute clock. A free option is the CLP practice test on this site, which lets you rehearse the format before you commit your exam fee.
Time away from work
The exam runs up to 120 minutes and is taken online, so travel costs are likely minimal. Still, if you schedule study blocks around paid shifts, the lost hours are a real cost worth acknowledging.
Cost Over the Six-Year Validity Window
Because the credential is valid for six years, the most useful way to compare cost is per year of validity rather than as a one-time hit. Using only published numbers, the exam fee spread across the six-year window looks like this:
| Scenario | Published Exam Fee | Validity Period | Approximate Fee per Year of Validity |
|---|---|---|---|
| Member, pass first attempt | $300 | 6 years | $50 |
| Non-member, pass first attempt | $395 | 6 years | about $66 |
Those per-year figures cover the exam fee only. They exclude membership dues, any retake, renewal charges, training and licensing, none of which are verified. Use the table as a lower-bound reference, not a total cost of ownership.
Key Takeaway
The cleanest way to avoid overspending is to register once you are consistently comfortable with the material. A failed attempt may carry its own fee, and the passing score is not publicly disclosed, so you cannot rely on a known cutoff to tell you when you are ready.
Spending Your Prep Budget by Topic
The exam covers five published preparation topics, which ABE describes as descriptive headings rather than weighted domains. No official weighting or exhaustive blueprint exists in the sources reviewed, so it is not possible to say which topic carries the most points. That means you should not skimp on any of them. The full breakdown is in CLP Exam Domains: Complete Guide to All 5 Content Areas; here is how each topic maps to where your preparation time and money should go.
Safety
Laser work carries real risk to clients and operators, so safety is the topic where gaps are least forgivable.
- Eye protection and protective measures for client and operator
- Contraindications and when treatment should not proceed
- Hazards specific to laser hair removal and photo-rejuvenation
Terminology
Precise vocabulary underpins every other topic, and unfamiliar terms can cause you to misread a question.
- Core laser and light-based treatment vocabulary
- Skin and hair terminology relevant to treatment decisions
Application
This topic is where knowledge meets practice, covering how treatments are carried out for hair removal and photo-rejuvenation.
- Treatment approach for hair removal versus photo-rejuvenation
- Client assessment and treatment considerations
Background
Foundational context that supports sound judgment in the other areas.
- The principles behind how laser and light-based treatments work
- The scientific and professional context of the field
Specifications
Device and parameter knowledge that candidates sometimes under-prepare for because it feels technical.
- Equipment characteristics and settings relevant to treatment
- How specifications relate to safe and effective use
One short scheduling idea: because the weighting is unknown, spread effort evenly at first, then shift time toward whichever topic your practice results show is weakest. A reasonable order is Terminology first, since vocabulary supports everything else, then Safety and Application together, and Background and Specifications last as consolidation. For a fuller plan tied to the manual, see the CLP Study Guide: How to Pass on Your First Attempt.
Terminology and Background
- Read the manual sections on vocabulary and foundational principles
- Build a personal glossary of terms you miss
Safety and Application
- Work through protective measures and contraindications
- Compare hair removal and photo-rejuvenation procedures side by side
Specifications and Timed Practice
- Review device and parameter material
- Take a full 100-question practice set within 120 minutes
Is the Fee Justified? A Practical Value Check
Whether $300 or $395 is worth paying depends on what you intend to do with the credential. The credential's value to an employer is a separate question from its cost, and the discussion in Is the CLP Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis goes deeper on that. For a cost-focused decision, ask three questions.
- Does a target employer ask for it? Review postings in CLP Jobs and your local market. If employers in your area list the credential, the fee is easier to justify. If none do, think harder.
- Do you already have the training and licensing your role requires? The certification adds a knowledge credential on top of those foundations; it does not substitute for them.
- Can you absorb the unverified costs? If a retake or renewal fee turns out to be significant, would the credential still make sense?
Earnings are another consideration, but no reliable CLP-specific salary figure is cited here. If pay is central to your decision, the framework in CLP Salary Guide: Complete Earnings Analysis explains how to evaluate it without leaning on unsupported numbers.
Frequently Asked Questions
ABE publishes a fee of $300 for members and $395 for non-members. The study manual is included in the price. Retake, renewal and membership costs are not publicly verified, so confirm them with ABE before paying.
No. According to the published fee information, the study manual is included with the exam fee, so you do not need to budget separately for the primary study text.
The member discount is $95. Membership only makes financial sense for the exam alone if the dues are lower than that amount. Membership pricing is not in the sources reviewed, so check ABE's current rates and compare.
Retake rules and fees are not publicly verified, and the passing score is not publicly disclosed. Contact ABE before your first attempt to learn the retake policy so you can plan around it. Timing is covered further in CLP Exam Dates: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.
The credential is valid for six years. Renewal education and fees are not publicly verified, so ask ABE what renewal involves before you count on a specific cost.