CLP logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CLP Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling

TL;DR
  • The Certified Laser Professional exam is offered online through Allied Beauty Experts (ABE), so there is no published fixed national test calendar.
  • Published fee is $300 for ABE members and $395 for non-members, with the study manual included.
  • The exam has 100 questions and a 120-minute limit, so plan roughly a minute per question with review time.
  • Retake, proctoring and open-book rules are unverified publicly, so confirm them with ABE before booking.

What "Exam Dates" Actually Means for the CLP

Search for "CLP exam dates" and you may expect a neat grid of quarterly testing windows, registration cutoffs and score-release days. For the Certified Laser Professional credential, offered through Allied Beauty Experts (ABE), that expectation needs adjusting. The exam is delivered online, and the public materials we reviewed do not list a calendar of fixed national sittings, a late-registration deadline or a published score-release schedule.

That does not make scheduling a mystery. It means your planning shifts from "which date does the testing body assign?" to "when am I actually ready, and what must I confirm with ABE before I commit?" This guide covers what is publicly known about how the Certified Laser Professional exam is delivered, what is not disclosed, and how to build a realistic personal timeline around the five published preparation topics.

Read This First: This article is about the Certified Laser Professional credential from Allied Beauty Experts, which covers laser hair removal and photo-rejuvenation. Other certifications share the "CLP" acronym, and their dates, fees and windows do not apply here. If a source mentions a different certifying body, it is describing a different credential. For background on the name, see What Does CLP Stand For? and What Is CLP Certification?.

How the Certified Laser Professional Exam Is Delivered

The exam is administered online through ABE. The external testing vendor, if one is used, is not publicly identified. That detail matters for scheduling because many vendor-run exams have fixed appointment slots at physical centers, while an online delivery model typically gives candidates more flexibility. We can only describe that flexibility in general terms, though, because ABE has not published the specific mechanics.

What we do know about the exam itself:

  • Length: 100 questions.
  • Time limit: 120 minutes.
  • Scoring detail: the split between scored and unscored items is not disclosed.
  • Item format: not disclosed, so do not assume it is purely multiple choice.
  • Passing score and pass rate: not publicly disclosed. See CLP Passing Score 2026 and CLP Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows for what can and cannot be said.

Because passing criteria are not published, the most dependable way to judge readiness is to practice under timed conditions and to be strong across all five topic areas, rather than aiming for a specific cut score.

What ABE Publishes (and What It Doesn't)

Candidates searching for dates are often really searching for certainty. Here is an honest picture of what is and is not verifiable from public sources as of our most recent review.

Scheduling QuestionPublicly Verified?What to Do
Fixed national testing windowsNo calendar locatedAsk ABE how and when sittings are offered
Registration deadlineNot publishedConfirm directly before planning around any date
Exam feeYes: $300 members / $395 non-membersCompare membership status before paying
Study manualIncluded with the feeStart reading as soon as you have access
Question count and time limitYes: 100 questions / 120 minutesPractice at this pace
Retake rules and waiting periodsUnverifiedAsk before your first attempt
Proctoring and open-book rulesUnverifiedAsk what your testing environment must look like
Score release timingNot publishedAsk whether results are immediate or delayed
Validity periodSix yearsNote your expiry date once certified

Treat the "Not published" and "Unverified" rows as your question list for ABE. Getting those answers in writing before you pay is the single most useful scheduling step you can take.

Registration and Fee Mechanics

The published fee structure is straightforward: $300 for ABE members and $395 for non-members, with the study manual included. That $95 difference is worth weighing before you register, since membership terms and costs are set by ABE and can change. For a fuller breakdown of what else to budget, see CLP Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.

Because the manual is bundled in, your preparation clock may effectively start at registration. If you want to read the manual before committing to an attempt, ask ABE whether manual access is granted at purchase and whether the exam must be taken within a particular timeframe after you pay. We could not verify any such expiry window publicly, so do not assume one exists or does not exist.

Don't Pay Before You Plan: Since a registration deadline and retake policy are not publicly verified, avoid paying on impulse. Decide on your target readiness date first, then confirm any time limits tied to your purchase. Paying early with no plan can leave you rushing through the manual.

Checks to Make Before You Pick a Date

Eligibility is another unknown that affects timing. Education, experience, training-hour and reference prerequisites are not publicly verified for this credential. If a prerequisite exists and you do not yet meet it, your real "exam date" is gated by when you can satisfy it, not by when you want to test. Review CLP Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify and then confirm with ABE.

It is also worth being clear on what the credential is and is not. It is not a substitute for hands-on training or for any licensing your state or employer requires to operate lasers. If your goal is to work with laser hair removal or photo-rejuvenation devices, make sure your training and licensing path is on track alongside the exam. Our overview of CLP training covers how preparation fits into that bigger picture.

  1. Confirm eligibility and any prerequisites with ABE.
  2. Ask about retake rules, waiting periods and added retake fees.
  3. Ask about proctoring, ID checks and permitted materials.
  4. Ask whether results are immediate or delayed.
  5. Confirm the technical requirements for the online platform.
  6. Only then choose a target date and pay.

Choosing a Date That Fits Your Readiness

With no fixed national windows to work around, your date is largely your own decision, so base it on evidence rather than optimism. Three signals matter most.

Signal 1: Coverage of all five topics

ABE describes five preparation topics: safety, terminology, application, background and specifications. These are descriptive headings, not verified weighted domains, and no official weighting has been published. That means you cannot safely skip a topic on the theory that it carries little weight. A candidate who is strong in application but thin on safety is taking an unquantified risk. Read our CLP Exam Domains guide for how to approach each area.

Signal 2: Timed performance

The 120-minute limit across 100 questions works out to about 72 seconds per question on average, with no buffer. If your practice sessions regularly run long, you need more pacing work before booking. Use our CLP practice tests to simulate the full-length, timed experience.

Signal 3: Consistency, not one good score

One strong practice result can be luck. Several consistent results across different question sets are a better predictor. See How Hard Is the CLP Exam? for a candid look at where candidates tend to struggle.

Key Takeaway

Because ABE has not published a weighted blueprint, treat all five topics as equally testable. Schedule your attempt only when you are consistently solid across safety, terminology, application, background and specifications, not just in your strongest area.

Mapping the Five Topics to Your Calendar

Here is the one place where we lean on general planning, tied directly to the Certified Laser Professional topics. The sequence below front-loads safety because it underpins everything else a laser professional does, then builds toward the more technical material. The timeline is an editorial suggestion, not an official ABE schedule, and you should stretch or compress it to fit your starting knowledge.

Week 1

Safety

  • Work through the safety material in the study manual first
  • Focus on protective practices, client screening concepts and hazard awareness
  • Take a short untimed quiz to find weak spots
Week 2

Terminology

  • Build a glossary of laser and skin-related terms from the manual
  • Review terms alongside safety so the vocabulary reinforces itself
Week 3

Application

  • Study how laser hair removal and photo-rejuvenation are applied
  • Connect procedures back to the safety principles from Week 1
Week 4

Background and Specifications

  • Cover the background concepts behind how lasers interact with tissue
  • Review device specifications and the parameters you must recognize
  • Finish with a full-length, timed practice session

If you have prior hands-on experience, you may compress this. If you are new to laser work, add buffer weeks and revisit safety at the end. For a more detailed approach to preparation, see the CLP Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt and the CLP Cheat Sheet for a quick final review.

What Each Topic Asks of You

Knowing what each heading covers helps you judge how long you truly need. These descriptions reflect ABE's published topic names for laser hair removal and photo-rejuvenation; ABE has not released an item-level blueprint, so treat the bullets as areas to master rather than a guaranteed list of exam items.

Safety

The foundation of the credential. Expect to understand how to protect both client and operator when working with laser devices.

  • Protective measures and safe operating practices
  • Recognizing situations that call for caution
  • Awareness of risks tied to laser and light-based treatments

Terminology

Precise vocabulary lets you read questions correctly under time pressure.

  • Core laser and light-treatment terms
  • Skin and hair concepts relevant to treatment
  • Distinguishing similar-sounding terms

Application

How treatments for hair removal and photo-rejuvenation are performed in practice.

  • Treatment approaches for each service
  • Matching technique to the situation
  • Linking procedure to safety considerations

Background

The underlying context that makes sense of why treatments work and what influences outcomes.

  • Foundational concepts behind laser and light treatments
  • Context that supports sound decisions

Specifications

The technical parameters and device details a professional is expected to recognize.

  • Device and treatment parameters
  • How specifications relate to safe and effective use

Exam-Day Logistics: Time, Format and Pacing

On the day, the numbers that matter are 100 questions and 120 minutes. Item format is not disclosed, so prepare for the possibility of more than one question style rather than assuming straight multiple choice. Open-book, calculator and adaptive-testing rules are all unverified publicly, so confirm them with ABE in advance rather than guessing.

Because the exam is online, plan your environment with the same care you would give a test center visit:

  • Choose a quiet space where you will not be interrupted for the full 120 minutes.
  • Test your device, browser and internet connection beforehand.
  • Ask whether identity verification or proctoring is required and prepare accordingly.
  • Pace yourself at roughly one question per minute, leaving a short window to revisit flagged items if the platform allows it.
Pacing Reality Check: At 100 questions in 120 minutes, you have just over a minute each. Don't let a single hard question consume five minutes. Make your best choice, move on, and return only if time allows and the platform permits going back.

After the Exam: Validity and Renewal Planning

Once certified, the credential is valid for six years. Renewal education requirements and fees are not publicly verified, so do not assume continuing-education hours or a renewal price. The practical move is to record your certification date, calculate your six-year expiry and set a reminder well ahead of it to ask ABE about the renewal process.

If you are weighing whether the investment pays off over that six-year span, our analyses on whether the CLP certification is worth it and the CLP salary guide walk through the considerations without inventing figures that ABE has not published.

Who Hires Certified Laser Professionals and Why Timing Matters

The credential centers on laser hair removal and photo-rejuvenation, so the employers most likely to care are those offering those services: medical spas, aesthetic and dermatology-adjacent practices, salons and laser clinics. Whether a given employer requires or merely prefers the credential varies, and the credential does not replace required training or licensing.

That is where timing becomes a practical decision. If you are applying for a role or negotiating a move, ask the employer whether certification is expected before your start date, since that can set a real deadline for your exam. Browse our overview of CLP jobs to see how the credential shows up in hiring, and read CLP certification for the broader picture.

Whatever date you choose, build confidence first. Our full-length CLP practice exams let you rehearse the 100-question, 120-minute format before you commit to the real attempt.

Frequently Asked Questions

Are there fixed CLP exam dates in 2026?

We could not locate a published calendar of fixed national testing windows for the Certified Laser Professional exam. The exam is delivered online through Allied Beauty Experts, so confirm directly with ABE how and when you can sit for it.

How much does the CLP exam cost?

The published fee is $300 for ABE members and $395 for non-members, and the study manual is included. Retake fees and any renewal costs are not publicly verified, so ask ABE before you register.

How long is the exam and how many questions are on it?

The exam has 100 questions with a 120-minute time limit. The split between scored and unscored items, and the specific question formats, are not publicly disclosed.

What topics does the CLP exam cover?

ABE lists five preparation topics: safety, terminology, application, background and specifications, focused on laser hair removal and photo-rejuvenation. These are descriptive topics rather than verified weighted domains, so prepare for all five. See our domains guide for detail.

How long is the certification valid?

The credential is valid for six years. Renewal education requirements and fees are not publicly verified, so contact ABE well before your expiration date to learn what renewal involves.

Ready to pass your CLP exam?

Put this into practice with free CLP questions across every exam domain.