- What "CLP" Means on This Page
- Who Runs the Certification and How the Exam Is Delivered
- Registration and Fee Mechanics
- Exam Format: What Is and Is Not Published
- The Five Preparation Topics in Detail
- Prerequisites and the Training Question
- Certification Is Not Licensing
- Validity Period and Renewal
- Where the Credential Fits in the Job Market
- Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Five Topics
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Certified Laser Professional is offered through Allied Beauty Experts (ABE) and focuses on laser hair removal and photo-rejuvenation.
- The published fee is $300 for members and $395 for non-members, and the study manual is included.
- The exam has 100 questions with a 120-minute limit; passing score and pass rate are not publicly disclosed.
- ABE lists five preparation topics: safety, terminology, application, background and specifications. These are not verified weighted domains.
What "CLP" Means on This Page
The acronym CLP is shared by several unrelated credentials across different industries. On this site, CLP means Certified Laser Professional, a certification in the aesthetic laser field. If you arrived looking for a different credential with the same letters, nothing here will apply to it. For a plain-language orientation to the term itself, see our explainers on what CLP is and what CLP stands for.
The Certified Laser Professional credential is aimed at practitioners who work with lasers for laser hair removal and photo-rejuvenation. Because the field sits between aesthetics and regulated medical practice, the certification is best understood as a documented demonstration of knowledge, not a legal permission slip. That distinction comes up again below, because it shapes how you should think about the whole investment.
Who Runs the Certification and How the Exam Is Delivered
The Certified Laser Professional exam is administered through Allied Beauty Experts (ABE). The exam is taken online through ABE. The external testing vendor, if one is used, is not publicly identified, so you should not assume a particular third-party testing center, proctoring service or software platform until you have confirmed the details directly with ABE during registration.
That online delivery has practical consequences. You will want a reliable internet connection, a quiet space and a device you trust well before test day. Whether the exam is proctored, whether it is open-book, and whether a calculator is permitted are all details that are not publicly verified. Treat those as questions to ask ABE before you pay, not assumptions to make.
Registration and Fee Mechanics
The published fee structure is straightforward. The exam costs $300 for ABE members and $395 for non-members, and the study manual is included in that price. The practical meaning is that you are not expected to buy a separate required textbook to sit the exam; the manual is bundled.
| Item | What Is Published |
|---|---|
| Exam fee (member) | $300 |
| Exam fee (non-member) | $395 |
| Study manual | Included with the fee |
| Retake fee | Not publicly verified |
| Renewal fee | Not publicly verified |
The $95 gap between member and non-member pricing is worth weighing against whatever it costs to join ABE. Membership terms are not detailed in the facts available here, so check the current membership cost on the ABE site before deciding which route is cheaper for you. For a wider look at what the credential costs over time, including costs that are not published, see our CLP certification cost breakdown.
Exam Format: What Is and Is Not Published
Here is what can be stated with confidence: the exam has 100 questions and a 120-minute time limit. That works out to roughly 72 seconds per question if you spread your time evenly, which is a comfortable pace for recall-based items but tighter if you tend to reread scenarios.
What is not disclosed is just as important to understand:
- Scored versus unscored items: the split is not published.
- Item format: whether questions are multiple choice, scenario-based or mixed is not disclosed.
- Passing score: not publicly disclosed. See our page on the CLP passing score for how to prepare when the cut line is unknown.
- Pass rate: not publicly disclosed, so any specific figure you see quoted elsewhere should be treated with suspicion. Our CLP pass rate page explains what can and cannot be said.
- Exam version date: no dated exam version has been located.
The Five Preparation Topics in Detail
ABE publishes five competency topics for laser hair removal and photo-rejuvenation: safety, terminology, application, background and specifications. It is essential to be precise about what these are. They are descriptive preparation headings, not an official weighted or exhaustive examination blueprint. There is no published weighting, no official domain count for the exam itself, and no way to identify which topic carries the most questions. The practice-question allocations on this site are editorial choices, not a reflection of ABE's scoring.
For a structured walk-through of how these headings map to study, our guide to the five CLP content areas goes deeper. Below is how to think about each one.
Topic 1: Safety
In any laser discipline, safety is the foundation, and candidates should expect to be comfortable with how energy interacts with tissue and how harm is prevented.
- Patient and operator protection concepts, including eye protection principles
- Skin-type awareness and why it changes risk
- Contraindications and situations that call for caution or referral
- Treatment-room safety practices and incident awareness
Topic 2: Terminology
Laser work has its own vocabulary, and exam questions often hinge on knowing exactly what a term means.
- Core laser and light-based device vocabulary
- Terms describing skin, hair and treatment response
- Distinctions between similar-sounding concepts that are easy to confuse
Topic 3: Application
This topic is about how treatments are actually carried out for laser hair removal and photo-rejuvenation.
- Treatment approach for hair removal versus photo-rejuvenation
- Pre-treatment assessment and client consultation
- Post-treatment care and expectations
- Recognizing and responding to adverse reactions
Topic 4: Background
Background material gives context for why the technology works and where it came from.
- Foundational physics and biology that underpin treatment
- The structure and cycle of hair and relevant skin anatomy
- How laser and light-based treatments developed as a field
Topic 5: Specifications
Specifications covers the technical parameters of devices and how settings relate to outcomes.
- Device parameters and what each setting controls
- How parameter choices relate to safety and effectiveness
- Matching technical settings to client and treatment characteristics
One honest caveat: the bullets above describe the kinds of content these headings typically cover in this field, framed as study guidance. Because ABE does not publish a detailed blueprint, the study manual that comes with your fee is the authoritative source for exactly what to learn. Use it as your primary text and use outside material to reinforce, not replace, it.
Prerequisites and the Training Question
Public sources do not verify any formal prerequisites. Education requirements, prior experience, required training hours and reference requirements are all not publicly verified. That does not mean none exist; it means they cannot be confirmed from public information. Our CLP requirements page lays out what is known and what you should ask ABE directly.
Separately, the certification is explicitly not a substitute for training. If you have not worked hands-on with laser devices under qualified supervision, passing a knowledge exam does not make you ready to treat clients. If you are weighing how to build that foundation, see our overview of CLP training.
Certification Is Not Licensing
This is the single most important expectation to set. A Certified Laser Professional credential does not replace licensing. Rules about who may operate lasers, under whose supervision, and with what authority vary by jurisdiction and are set by regulators, not by ABE. Before investing in the exam, find out what your own state or country requires to perform laser hair removal and photo-rejuvenation, and treat the certification as a complement to those requirements.
Key Takeaway
Check your local licensing and supervision rules first. The certification can strengthen your credentials, but it cannot authorize you to practice where the law requires something more.
Validity Period and Renewal
The credential is valid for six years. That is a relatively long window compared with many certifications, which lowers the frequency of renewal hassle. However, the specifics are not publicly verified: continuing education requirements and renewal fees could not be confirmed. If a long validity period is part of your reasoning for pursuing the credential, confirm the renewal terms in writing so the six years do not end in a surprise requirement.
Where the Credential Fits in the Job Market
Laser hair removal and photo-rejuvenation are services offered in medical spas, aesthetic clinics, dermatology-adjacent practices and dedicated laser studios. Employers in these settings often care about demonstrated safety knowledge and documented competence, which is where a knowledge-based certification can help a candidate stand out. It is not, however, a guarantee of a particular role, and no salary figure is published for this credential.
If you are evaluating the career side, our pages on CLP jobs, the CLP salary guide and whether the CLP certification is worth it walk through how to assess value without relying on invented numbers. The honest answer is that return depends heavily on your local licensing environment and your employer's expectations.
Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Five Topics
Because the topics are unweighted and the passing score is unknown, the safest approach is even coverage with extra reinforcement where your starting knowledge is weakest. A sensible order follows how the topics build on each other: vocabulary and background first, then the technical and procedural material, with safety threaded throughout and revisited at the end.
Terminology and Background
- Read the manual sections on vocabulary, skin and hair biology
- Build a glossary of terms you will need in every later topic
Specifications
- Study device parameters and how settings relate to outcomes
- Connect each parameter back to terms from Week 1
Application
- Work through hair removal versus photo-rejuvenation approaches
- Review consultation, aftercare and adverse-reaction handling
Safety, Then Full Review
- Revisit safety, contraindications and protective practices
- Take timed practice sets of 100 questions against a 120-minute clock
Safety goes last in the schedule not because it matters least but because it draws on everything else: you cannot reason about contraindications without the terminology, or about parameters without the specifications. Timed practice at the real 100-question, 120-minute format builds the pacing you will need. For a fuller methodology, read our CLP study guide, keep the CLP cheat sheet handy for last-minute review, and when you are ready to test yourself, use the CLP practice tests. If you are unsure how demanding the exam is, our difficulty guide sets realistic expectations, and you can confirm timing details on the CLP exam dates page.
For a consolidated overview of the credential, you can also revisit our main page on CLP certification and the explainer on what CLP certification is.
Frequently Asked Questions
The exam is offered through Allied Beauty Experts (ABE) and is taken online. The external testing vendor, if any, is not publicly identified.
The published fee is $300 for ABE members and $395 for non-members. The study manual is included. Retake and renewal fees are not publicly verified.
The exam has 100 questions with a 120-minute time limit. The split between scored and unscored items and the question format are not disclosed.
The passing score and pass rate are not publicly disclosed. Because of that, plan to master all five preparation topics instead of aiming for a minimum.
No. Certification is not a substitute for training or licensing. Check the rules in your own jurisdiction, because they are set by regulators and vary widely.
It is valid for six years. Renewal education requirements and renewal fees are not publicly verified, so confirm them with ABE.