- What "CLP" Means on This Site
- Who Issues the Credential and How the Exam Is Delivered
- The Five Published Preparation Topics
- Fees, Registration, and What You Receive
- What ABE Does Not Publish
- Who Benefits From the Credential
- What the Certification Does Not Do
- A Topic-Ordered Preparation Plan
- Quick Reference: Verified vs. Unverified Details
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Here, a CLP is a Certified Laser Professional, a credential from Allied Beauty Experts (ABE) covering laser hair removal and photo-rejuvenation.
- The exam is online: 100 questions in a 120-minute limit.
- Published fee is $300 for members or $395 for non-members, with a study manual included.
- ABE lists five preparation topics: safety, terminology, application, background, and specifications. They are not published as weighted domains.
What "CLP" Means on This Site
The acronym CLP is shared by several unrelated credentials across different industries, which is why a search for "what is a CLP" returns a confusing mix of results. On this site, CLP means Certified Laser Professional and nothing else. It is a certification for practitioners who work with lasers and light-based devices in the aesthetics and beauty field, specifically laser hair removal and photo-rejuvenation.
If you landed here looking for a different credential that uses the same letters, the details below will not apply to it. Every fact in this article concerns the Certified Laser Professional program offered through Allied Beauty Experts. For other angles on the same question, see our short explainers on what CLP stands for and CLP meaning.
Who Issues the Credential and How the Exam Is Delivered
The Certified Laser Professional credential is offered by Allied Beauty Experts (ABE) as part of its national laser certification program. Candidates take the exam online through ABE. The external testing vendor, if one is used behind the scenes, is not publicly identified, so you should not assume any particular third-party testing-center experience. Confirm the delivery details directly with ABE when you register.
The published exam parameters are straightforward:
- Length: 100 questions.
- Time limit: 120 minutes, which works out to roughly 72 seconds per question if you spread your time evenly.
- Delivery: online, administered through ABE.
The split between scored and unscored questions and the exact item format are not disclosed. That means you should prepare for the possibility of different question styles rather than assuming everything will be simple recall. For a candid look at how demanding this is likely to feel, read how hard the CLP exam is.
The Five Published Preparation Topics
ABE describes its preparation around five competency topics. It is important to be precise about what these are: they are descriptive preparation headings, not an official weighted blueprint. ABE does not publish how many questions come from each topic, so no one can honestly tell you which area carries the most weight. Treat all five as live.
Domain 1: Safety
Laser work puts the client and the operator at risk if basic precautions are ignored, so safety is the topic to treat with the most care.
- Eye protection and protective measures for both operator and client
- Skin reactions, contraindications, and when treatment should not proceed
- Treatment-room awareness and safe handling of laser and light-based devices
- Recognizing adverse responses and knowing when to stop
Domain 2: Terminology
The exam assumes you can read and use the vocabulary of the field without hesitation.
- Core laser and light-based device terms
- Skin and hair-growth vocabulary relevant to hair removal
- Terms used in photo-rejuvenation discussions
- Distinguishing similar-sounding terms that are easy to confuse
Domain 3: Application
This topic covers how treatments are actually performed in practice for laser hair removal and photo-rejuvenation.
- Procedural flow from consultation to treatment to aftercare
- Matching technique to treatment goal
- Practical considerations during a session
- Aftercare guidance clients should receive
Domain 4: Background
Background material gives you the foundation that explains why the procedures work.
- How light-based technology interacts with skin and hair
- Context for how laser hair removal and photo-rejuvenation developed as services
- Conceptual grounding that supports safe decision-making
Domain 5: Specifications
Specifications deal with the technical characteristics of devices and settings.
- Device characteristics and what they mean for treatment
- Settings and parameters and how they relate to outcomes
- Reading and interpreting technical information accurately
For a deeper walkthrough of each area, see the full CLP exam domains guide.
Fees, Registration, and What You Receive
ABE publishes a two-tier fee: $300 for members and $395 for non-members. The study manual is included in the fee, so you do not need to purchase a separate required text just to sit for the exam. That makes the quoted fee a reasonably complete figure for the exam itself, though you should still budget separately for any training you take. A fuller breakdown lives in our CLP certification cost guide.
Once certified, the credential is valid for six years. The renewal education requirements and renewal fees are not publicly verified, so do not assume what the renewal process will involve. Confirm those details with ABE rather than relying on third-party summaries.
What ABE Does Not Publish
A good chunk of what candidates want to know is simply not public. Being upfront about this saves you from acting on bad information.
- Passing score: not publicly disclosed. See our passing score page for how we handle this.
- Pass rate: not publicly disclosed. Anyone quoting one is not working from published data; our pass rate article explains what can and cannot be said.
- Prerequisites: education, experience, training-hour, and reference requirements are not publicly verified. Our requirements page covers how to approach eligibility questions.
- Exam rules: whether the exam is open-book, whether calculators are allowed, how proctoring works, whether it is adaptive, and what the retake policy is have not been verified.
- Dated version and weighted outline: no dated exam version or weighted domain outline has been located.
- Exam dates: scheduling specifics are best confirmed with ABE; see CLP exam dates.
Key Takeaway
Before you pay, email or call ABE and ask three things in writing: what the prerequisites are, what the retake policy is, and how the online exam is proctored. Those are the gaps most likely to affect your plans.
Who Benefits From the Credential
The CLP is aimed at people who perform or support laser hair removal and photo-rejuvenation services. In practice, that points toward a few kinds of workplaces and roles:
- Medical spas and aesthetic clinics that offer laser hair removal and light-based skin treatments.
- Salons and skin-care studios expanding into laser services.
- Practitioners already in beauty and aesthetics who want a recognized credential to document their knowledge of safety, terminology, and device specifications.
We deliberately avoid quoting salary numbers because no verified earnings figures for this credential are available to us. If pay is your main question, our salary guide and jobs overview discuss it qualitatively, and the worth-it analysis helps you weigh cost against likely benefit for your own situation.
What the Certification Does Not Do
ABE is explicit that this certification is not a substitute for training or licensing. Passing the exam shows you have covered the knowledge areas; it does not authorize you to operate lasers where local rules require a license, supervision, or specific hands-on training. Rules on who may perform laser treatments vary by jurisdiction, so check your own requirements before offering services.
A Topic-Ordered Preparation Plan
Because the weights are unpublished, the sensible approach is to sequence the five topics by how much each one depends on the others, then spend your final stretch on mixed review. Here is one ordering that works with the structure ABE describes.
Terminology and Background
- Build the vocabulary first; every other topic uses it
- Read the background material so later procedures make sense
Safety
- Work through protective measures, contraindications, and adverse responses
- Revisit safety again in Week 4 rather than treating it as one-and-done
Application and Specifications
- Tie procedures to device characteristics and settings
- Practice explaining why a setting or technique fits a given scenario
Mixed Review and Timed Practice
- Run 100-question sets inside a 120-minute window to build pacing
- Reread weak areas and your included study manual
Start from the manual that comes with your fee, then layer on practice questions. Our CLP study guide expands on this approach, and the cheat sheet is useful for a last-day skim. When you are ready to test yourself, try the CLP practice tests to simulate the pacing of a 100-question sitting.
Quick Reference: Verified vs. Unverified Details
| Item | What Is Known |
|---|---|
| Credential | Certified Laser Professional, offered by Allied Beauty Experts |
| Scope | Laser hair removal and photo-rejuvenation |
| Delivery | Online exam through ABE; testing vendor not publicly identified |
| Questions / time | 100 questions, 120-minute limit |
| Fee | $300 members / $395 non-members, study manual included |
| Validity | Six years |
| Passing score and pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
| Prerequisites | Not publicly verified |
| Domain weights | Not published; five preparation topics only |
| Renewal requirements | Education and fees not verified |
Our public-source review for these facts was dated September 29, 2026, and relies on ABE's national laser certification page. Details can change, so verify current terms with ABE before registering. For the broader picture, our pages on CLP certification and what CLP certification is cover related ground.
Frequently Asked Questions
A CLP here is a Certified Laser Professional, a credential from Allied Beauty Experts covering laser hair removal and photo-rejuvenation. It is unrelated to other credentials that happen to share the same acronym.
The exam has 100 questions with a 120-minute time limit, delivered online through ABE. The split between scored and unscored questions and the item format are not publicly disclosed.
The published fee is $300 for members and $395 for non-members, and the study manual is included. Confirm current pricing with ABE before you register.
ABE lists five preparation topics: safety, terminology, application, background, and specifications. These are descriptive headings rather than an official weighted blueprint, so no topic can be identified as the largest.
No. The certification is not a substitute for training or licensing. Check the rules in your own jurisdiction for who may perform laser treatments and what training or supervision is required.