- CLP here means Certified Laser Professional, offered through Allied Beauty Experts (ABE) for laser hair removal and photo-rejuvenation.
- The exam is online: 100 questions, 120-minute limit, with the study manual included in the fee.
- Published fee is $300 for members and $395 for non-members.
- Five preparation topics: Safety, Terminology, Application, Background and Specifications. They are unweighted headings, not an official blueprint.
What CLP Means Here
The acronym "CLP" is shared by several unrelated credentials in different industries. On this site, CLP means Certified Laser Professional, a credential tied to laser hair removal and photo-rejuvenation services. If you arrived here looking for a credential from another field, none of the details below apply to it.
If you want the shorter definitional versions of this topic, we also cover what CLP stands for, the meaning of CLP, and what CLP certification is in separate articles. This guide goes further: it walks through the exam structure, the preparation topics, the fee mechanics and, just as importantly, what is not publicly documented.
Who Issues the Credential
The Certified Laser Professional exam is offered through Allied Beauty Experts (ABE), an organization in the beauty and aesthetics space. ABE publishes a national laser certification page describing the program, and it is the primary public source for the details in this article. The exam is delivered online through ABE. The external testing vendor, if one is used, is not publicly identified.
That matters for how you evaluate the credential. It is an industry certification from a professional organization, not a government license and not a university degree. Its value depends on how employers, clinics and insurers in your market treat it, which we examine in our ROI analysis of the CLP certification.
Exam Format at a Glance
The published logistics are compact. Here is what is documented and what is not:
| Element | What Is Published |
|---|---|
| Issuing organization | Allied Beauty Experts (ABE) |
| Delivery | Online exam through ABE |
| Number of questions | 100 |
| Time limit | 120 minutes |
| Fee | $300 members / $395 non-members, study manual included |
| Validity | Six years |
| Passing score | Not publicly disclosed |
| Pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
| Scored vs. unscored items | Not disclosed |
| Item format | Not disclosed |
With 100 questions in 120 minutes, you have roughly 72 seconds per question if you spend the entire window. That is a comfortable pace for recall-style items and a tighter one if the exam includes scenario-based questions requiring multi-step reasoning. Because the item format is not disclosed, plan for both. For more on how demanding candidates find the test, see how hard the CLP exam is.
The Five Preparation Topics
ABE describes five competency topics for laser hair removal and photo-rejuvenation: Safety, Terminology, Application, Background and Specifications. These are published as preparation headings. They are not an official weighted or exhaustive exam blueprint, and the official examination domain count is not published. Which topic carries the largest weight on the real exam cannot be identified from public sources. Our practice-question allocations across these topics are editorial choices, not a reproduction of the real exam's distribution.
For a deeper treatment of how we organize these areas, see our complete guide to the CLP exam content areas. Below is how to think about each one.
Domain 1: Safety
For any energy-based aesthetic service, safety is the topic where mistakes carry real consequences for clients. Expect to need fluency in protecting both client and operator.
- Eye protection concepts and why laser-specific eyewear matters
- Skin-type considerations and why they affect treatment decisions
- Contraindications and situations where treatment should be deferred or declined
- Treatment-area preparation, aftercare and recognizing adverse reactions
- Treatment-room safeguards and operator responsibilities
Domain 2: Terminology
Vocabulary is the foundation for reading manuals, following protocols and communicating with colleagues. Terminology questions reward precise definitions.
- Core laser and light-based device terms used in hair removal and photo-rejuvenation
- Skin and hair biology vocabulary relevant to treatment response
- Terms describing treatment parameters and outcomes
- Distinguishing similar-sounding terms that are easy to confuse
Domain 3: Application
Application is the practical side: how treatments are performed in a real session and how decisions are made along the way.
- Client consultation and screening flow
- Matching treatment approach to the service, laser hair removal versus photo-rejuvenation
- Technique considerations during a session
- Post-treatment guidance and follow-up
Domain 4: Background
Background covers the foundational context behind the technology and the services built on it.
- How light-based hair removal and photo-rejuvenation work at a conceptual level
- The skin and hair-growth knowledge that underpins treatment planning
- The role of the professional within the broader practice setting
Domain 5: Specifications
Specifications deal with the technical characteristics of devices and settings. Candidates should be comfortable reading and interpreting technical information rather than memorizing in isolation.
- Device characteristics and how they relate to intended use
- How settings relate to skin type, hair characteristics and goals
- Interpreting manufacturer-style technical information
Our one-page CLP cheat sheet condenses the recall-heavy items from these topics into a quick-review format, which pairs well with the full CLP study guide.
Registration and Fee Mechanics
The published fee structure has two tiers: $300 for ABE members and $395 for non-members. The study manual is included in either price, so you are not buying a separate prep book to get started. The $95 difference means membership can pay for itself on the exam fee alone, provided you were considering ABE membership anyway; verify current membership terms directly with ABE before deciding.
What is not publicly verified: retake fees, renewal fees, whether additional costs apply for proctoring or technology, and any payment-plan options. Budget for the published fee and confirm the rest with ABE before you pay. Our CLP certification cost breakdown lays out how to think about the full financial picture, including the costs outside the exam fee such as formal training.
What Is Not Publicly Disclosed
An honest overview of this credential has to include its gaps. Based on public sources reviewed on September 29, 2026, the following are not publicly documented or could not be verified:
- Passing score: no published cut score. See our note on the CLP passing score for how to prepare under that uncertainty.
- Pass rate: no published figure. Be skeptical of any site quoting a specific percentage. Our CLP pass rate article explains what can and cannot be said.
- Prerequisites: education, experience, training-hour and reference requirements are not publicly verified. Details are collected in our CLP requirements guide.
- Exam rules: open-book status, calculator use, proctoring, adaptive testing and retake policy are all unverified.
- Exam version and blueprint: no dated exam version or weighted domain outline was located.
- Renewal: the credential is valid six years, but renewal education and fees are unverified.
- Exam dates: scheduling windows are covered in our CLP exam dates article, though an online format may offer more flexibility than fixed testing sessions.
The practical takeaway: prepare broadly across all five topics rather than gambling on a perceived high-weight area, because the real weighting is unknown.
Certification vs. Training and Licensing
ABE is explicit that its certification is not a substitute for training or licensing. This is the single most important caution for anyone considering a career involving lasers. Passing a certification exam does not authorize you to perform laser treatments. Who may operate a laser, under what supervision, and with what credentials is determined by your state or local regulations, which vary considerably.
Key Takeaway
Treat CLP as a knowledge credential layered on top of hands-on training and any required license, never as a replacement for either. Check your state's rules on who may operate lasers before spending money on any exam. For training pathways, see our overview of CLP training.
Where the Credential Gets Used
The credential is aimed at professionals working in laser hair removal and photo-rejuvenation services, which are offered in settings such as medical spas, aesthetic and dermatology-adjacent practices, and salons or skin-care clinics that provide light-based treatments. A certification can help signal baseline knowledge to employers and, in some cases, supports conversations with insurers or clinic owners about staff competence.
No credible public data in our reviewed sources lets us attach specific salary or job-demand numbers to the Certified Laser Professional designation, so we do not quote any. If compensation matters to your decision, read our CLP salary guide and CLP jobs overview for qualitative context, and compare against local job postings in your area.
Sequencing Your Preparation
Because ABE includes a study manual with the fee, the most efficient plan is to work through the manual first, then test yourself. Here is one way to order the five topics, with the reasoning attached:
Terminology and Background
- Build vocabulary first; every later topic assumes you can read the language
- Absorb the conceptual foundation of how the technology and skin response work
Safety and Application
- Study safety while the vocabulary is fresh, since these items carry real-world stakes
- Connect safety rules to the way a session actually flows
Specifications and Mixed Review
- Tackle technical specifications once the underlying concepts make them intuitive
- Run timed practice sets mixing all five topics to simulate the 100-question, 120-minute format
Safety and Application get the middle slot deliberately: they depend on the vocabulary from week one and feed directly into the technical reasoning of week three. In the final days, take a timed run through our CLP practice test to check your pacing against the 120-minute limit, and use the results to decide which topic to revisit. For a fuller plan, see the CLP study guide. You can also try the free questions on the main practice site at any point to gauge where you stand.
Frequently Asked Questions
Here it stands for Certified Laser Professional, a credential offered through Allied Beauty Experts for laser hair removal and photo-rejuvenation. Other credentials share the same acronym, but they are unrelated to this one.
The published format is 100 questions with a 120-minute time limit, delivered online through ABE. The scored/unscored split and the question format are not publicly disclosed.
The published fee is $300 for ABE members and $395 for non-members, and the study manual is included. Retake and renewal fees are not publicly verified, so confirm them with ABE.
No. ABE states the certification is not a substitute for training or licensing. Whether you may perform laser treatments depends on your state or local regulations and on proper hands-on training.
It is valid for six years. Renewal education requirements and fees are not publicly verified, so ask ABE what renewal will involve before you test.