CLP logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CLP Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass

TL;DR
  • Allied Beauty Experts does not publicly disclose the Certified Laser Professional passing score or pass rate.
  • The exam is 100 questions in 120 minutes, taken online through ABE.
  • Fee is $300 for members and $395 for non-members, with the study manual included.
  • Prepare across five ABE topics: safety, terminology, application, background and specifications.

CLP Passing Score 2026: What Is Actually Known

Key Takeaways

  • Allied Beauty Experts does not publicly disclose the Certified Laser Professional passing score or pass rate.
  • The exam is 100 questions in 120 minutes, taken online through ABE.
  • Fee is $300 for members and $395 for non-members, with the study manual included.
  • Prepare across five ABE topics: safety, terminology, application, background and specifications.
  • Aim well above any plausible cut score by treating every topic as a potential failure point.

Every candidate eventually types the same question into a search bar: what score do I need to pass the Certified Laser Professional exam? It is a fair question, and it deserves an honest answer rather than a confident-sounding number pulled from thin air. For the Certified Laser Professional (CLP) credential offered through Allied Beauty Experts (ABE), the passing score is not publicly disclosed. This article explains what that means, what you can reliably plan around, and how to build a preparation strategy that does not depend on knowing the exact cut line.

If you want to begin testing yourself right away, the CLP practice test site lets you work through questions organized around the same five topics ABE publishes for this credential.

What ABE Publishes About the Exam

Before talking about what is missing, it helps to be precise about what is confirmed. ABE administers the Certified Laser Professional exam online, and the following details are published or verifiable:

  • Certifying body: Allied Beauty Experts (ABE).
  • Delivery: Online exam through ABE. The external testing vendor, if any, is not publicly identified.
  • Length: 100 questions.
  • Time limit: 120 minutes.
  • Published fee: $300 for members and $395 for non-members, with the study manual included.
  • Validity: Six years from certification.
  • Preparation scope: Five competency topics covering laser hair removal and photo-rejuvenation.
Exam DetailStatus
Number of questions100 (published)
Time limit120 minutes (published)
Passing scoreNot publicly disclosed
Pass rateNot publicly disclosed
Scored vs. unscored splitNot disclosed
Question item formatNot disclosed
Weighted domain outlineNot published
Open-book, calculator, proctoring rulesUnverified
Retake policyUnverified

Notice how many rows read "not disclosed" or "unverified." That is not a gap in this article; it reflects the public record. For a broader look at what the data does and does not show, see our breakdown of the CLP pass rate.

Why You Won't Find a Cut Score Anywhere

Many certification programs publish a passing percentage or a scaled score threshold. ABE does not, at least not in any public source reviewed for this article. There are a few reasons a certifying body might keep this private, and it is worth understanding them so you do not waste time chasing a figure that third-party sites may simply be inventing.

Possible reasons a score stays unpublished

  • The exam may use a criterion-referenced standard set internally and not communicated as a simple percentage.
  • Some questions may be unscored pilot items, which would make "X out of 100" a misleading way to describe results. ABE has not disclosed whether such items exist.
  • Candidates may receive only a pass or fail outcome rather than a numeric report.

These are possibilities, not confirmed facts. What is confirmed is the absence of a published number.

Beware of invented cut scores: If a website tells you the CLP passing score is a specific percentage, ask where it came from. Unless it cites ABE directly, treat it as unverified. Because other credentials share the "CLP" acronym, figures from unrelated certifications are easy to mix in by mistake. Always confirm details against the ABE National Laser Certification page.

The Five Topics You Are Really Being Scored On

Since the cut score is unknown, your best lever is coverage. ABE lists five descriptive preparation topics for laser hair removal and photo-rejuvenation. These are not an official weighted blueprint, and the largest-weighted area cannot be identified from public information. That means you should not assume any one topic can be skipped. Here is what each topic covers in practical terms.

Domain 1: Safety

For a laser credential, safety is the topic most likely to carry real-world consequences, so expect to be comfortable with it.

  • Protective measures for the client and the operator, including eye protection concepts
  • Recognizing contraindications and conditions that call for caution
  • Skin reaction awareness and appropriate response to adverse effects
  • Treatment environment and risk awareness

Domain 2: Terminology

Vocabulary questions reward precise recall of laser and skin-related terms.

  • Core laser and light-based device vocabulary
  • Skin and hair biology terms used in treatment discussions
  • Distinguishing similar-sounding terms that are easy to confuse

Domain 3: Application

Application focuses on how treatments are actually performed for laser hair removal and photo-rejuvenation.

  • Matching treatment approach to client and skin characteristics
  • Understanding treatment sequencing and technique
  • Applying concepts to realistic scenarios rather than memorized definitions

Domain 4: Background

Background covers the foundational knowledge that supports safe and informed practice.

  • The science underlying light-based treatment
  • Skin, hair growth, and related physiology
  • Context a practitioner is expected to know before operating a device

Domain 5: Specifications

Specifications questions test understanding of device parameters and how settings relate to outcomes.

  • Device and parameter concepts relevant to hair removal and photo-rejuvenation
  • How settings and specifications connect to safety and results
  • Reading and interpreting technical details accurately

For a deeper walkthrough of how these areas fit together, read the complete guide to all five CLP content areas. Note that the topic descriptions above are editorial summaries of ABE's headings; they are not a verified question-by-question syllabus.

Format, Timing, and Fee Mechanics

Because you cannot manage what you cannot see, it pays to control the variables you can see: time, cost, and logistics.

Pacing across 100 questions in 120 minutes

One hundred questions in 120 minutes works out to roughly 72 seconds per question if you spend your time evenly. That is a simple arithmetic check, not an ABE recommendation. Because the item format is not publicly disclosed, you should practice with a mix of recall-style and scenario-style questions so that neither feels unfamiliar on exam day. A reasonable approach is to move steadily, flag anything that stalls you, and return to flagged items with whatever time remains.

What the fee includes

The published fee is $300 for ABE members and $395 for non-members, and the study manual is included. That inclusion matters: the manual is the most direct preparation resource tied to the exam, so treat it as your primary text rather than an optional extra. If you are weighing membership against the higher non-member price, the $95 difference is worth comparing against what membership offers you beyond the exam. Our CLP certification cost breakdown covers the pricing in more detail.

Unverified policies: Open-book rules, calculator use, proctoring, adaptive testing, and retake rules are all listed as unverified. Confirm each directly with ABE before you register, since these rules affect how you should prepare and what you do if a first attempt does not go your way.

Setting Your Own Passing Target

With no published threshold, the sensible response is to define your own readiness standard and set it high. Here is a practical way to think about it.

Treat every topic as a gate

Because ABE does not disclose weighting, a weak area could cost you more than you expect. Rather than hoping a strong topic compensates for a weak one, aim for solid competence in all five. A candidate who is excellent at terminology but shaky on safety is carrying more risk than the raw average suggests, especially for a credential tied to client-facing laser work.

Use practice scores as a buffer, not a prediction

Practice tests are valuable, but their percentages are editorial and cannot be mapped to an unknown official cut score. Use them to find weak topics and to build consistency. A reasonable personal goal is to score comfortably and consistently well on timed practice sets across all five topics before you book the exam, rather than aiming to scrape past an imagined line. Our guide on how hard the CLP exam is helps you calibrate expectations about difficulty.

Key Takeaway

Do not plan around a number nobody has published. Plan around breadth: be consistently strong on safety, terminology, application, background, and specifications, and let your margin of safety replace the missing cut score.

Mapping the Five Topics to Your Prep Calendar

Here is a sample five-week arrangement tied to the CLP topics. The order is editorial, based on building from foundations toward applied judgment. It is not an ABE-prescribed sequence, and you can compress or stretch it to fit your timeline.

Week 1

Background and Terminology

  • Read the included study manual sections on foundational science and skin/hair concepts
  • Build a running glossary of laser and skin terms
  • Take a short untimed quiz to see where vocabulary is thin
Week 2

Safety

  • Work through protective measures, contraindications, and adverse-response concepts
  • Write out safety rules in your own words and check them against the manual
Week 3

Specifications

  • Study device parameters and how settings relate to safety and outcomes
  • Practice interpreting technical details without guessing
Week 4

Application

  • Work scenario-style questions on laser hair removal and photo-rejuvenation
  • Connect application choices back to safety and specifications
Week 5

Full Review and Timed Sets

  • Run timed sets of 100 questions in a 120-minute window
  • Revisit your weakest topic and re-test it

For a broader approach to structuring your preparation, see the CLP study guide, and keep the CLP cheat sheet handy for last-minute review.

What Passing Does and Does Not Give You

Passing earns you the Certified Laser Professional credential, valid for six years. Renewal education requirements and fees are unverified, so check ABE for current details as your renewal date approaches.

It is equally important to be clear about limits. ABE states that certification is not a substitute for training or licensing. Passing the exam does not authorize you to operate lasers on its own; licensing and hands-on training requirements are separate and depend on where you work. If you are weighing the credential's value for your career, our analyses of whether the CLP certification is worth it and the CLP requirements and eligibility are good next reads. Prerequisites such as education, experience, training hours, and references are not publicly verified, so confirm them directly with ABE before you commit.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the passing score for the Certified Laser Professional exam?

The passing score is not publicly disclosed by Allied Beauty Experts. The exam consists of 100 questions with a 120-minute limit, but no cut score or percentage has been published in the sources reviewed. Confirm directly with ABE if you need official clarification.

Is the CLP pass rate published?

No. ABE does not publicly disclose a pass rate for the Certified Laser Professional exam. Any specific pass rate you see elsewhere should be treated as unverified unless it cites ABE directly.

How many questions are on the CLP exam, and are they all scored?

The exam has 100 questions. Whether all of them are scored or some are unscored is not disclosed, and the item format is not published either, so prepare for both recall and scenario-based questions.

How much does the CLP exam cost?

The published fee is $300 for ABE members and $395 for non-members. The study manual is included in the fee. Details on retake pricing and policies are unverified, so check with ABE.

Which topic should I study most?

ABE lists safety, terminology, application, background and specifications as descriptive topics, not weighted domains, so the largest-weighted area cannot be identified. The safest approach is to build solid competence in all five rather than concentrating on one.

When you are ready to measure where you stand across all five topics, take a timed set on the CLP practice test and review any topic where your results lag.

Ready to pass your CLP exam?

Put this into practice with free CLP questions across every exam domain.